The library and children on the autism spectrum: One day and two free webinars

Where will you be on Tuesday, March 26th? If you're interested in learning more about providing technology, storytime, and other services that make the library welcoming for children on the autism spectrum, then you may want to be online! Two free online webinars are being offered.

Tech on the Spec(trum): Making libraries more accessible for children with special needs

At 11 AM Pacific/Noon Mountain/1 PM Central/2 PM Eastern, join TechSoup for Libraries and Skokie (IL) Public Library's Holly Jin for a discussion with a technology emphasis. Is there an affordable way to make your library more technologically accessible for children with autism and other developmental differences? In this session, you will hear about Skokie Public Library's successful Come On In program. You will discover free and inexpensive tools. Participants will be encouraged to think about ways to partner with other organizations to meet patron and staff needs. This webinar is part of a series of webinars exploring the Edge Initiative Benchmarks, specifically Benchmark 11, which states: Libraries ensure participation in digital technology for people with disabilities. Register to receive connection details.

Storytimes and Children on the Autism Spectrum

At Noon Pacific/1 PM Mountain/2 PM Central/3 PM Eastern, join the Colorado Department of Education and Colorado State Library for a webinar that takes a look at making storytimes effective, safe and welcoming for young children on the autism spectrum and their families. Whether your library offers sensory storytimes especially for children on the autism spectrum and/or you wish to make your storytimes more inclusive for all young children, please join the webinar to learn more from examples of high-quality programs in preschools and public libraries. The webinar is free and everyone is welcome. There is no need to register. Click here to join.

Creative Commons License

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License.