Making the library's technology user-friendly for children with special needs

Come On In! at the Skokie Public Library (IL) offers specialized services, programs, and resources for families and encourages children with special needs to "Come On In!" and enjoy the library.  The Youth Services Staff has been trained to better understand and serve children with disabilities. Join us for a free webinar to learn more about this successful program, with special attention to the technology involved.

Is there an affordable way to make your library more technologically accessible for children with autism and other developmental differences? In this webinar, participants will learn about free and inexpensive tools used with the successful "Come On In" program at Skokie (IL) Public Library. Participants will also be encouraged to think about ways to partner with other organizations to meet patron and staff needs.  

This webinar is scheduled for Tuesday, March 26 at 11 a.m. Pacific time/noon Mountain time/1 p.m. Central time/2 p.m. Eastern time. The presenter for the session is Holly Jin, who is a Youth Services Librarian at the Skokie (IL) Public Library. The webinar is free, but please register in order to receive connection information.

This webinar is part of a series of webinars exploring the Edge Initiative Benchmarks, specifically Benchmark 11, which states: Libraries ensure participation in digital technology for people with disabilities. Please contact webinars@techsoupglobal.org with accessibility requests 4 days before the event.